Back to People
Cora Eaton

Cora Eaton


Cora comes to law with a professional background of 10+ years and is now focused on building a Corporate and Commercial Law practice.

Cora received her J.D. and a B.A. (with Distinction) from the University of Manitoba and completed the Certificate in Cannabis Law and Regulation from Osgoode Hall Law School.

Prior to law, Cora worked as Manager of Project Development and Communications for one of Winnipeg’s leading architectural firms where she led the firm’s business procurement process for large-scale capital projects.

In her downtime, Cora is actively involved in the community through her work on various boards, committees, and not-for-profits.

She has been involved in consultation and organizational change in small and large-scale organizations, both private and public. This experience, combined with her board work, has given her a broad appreciation for a diverse range of client needs and perspectives.


  • Juris Doctor, Robson Hall, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba, 2019
  • Bachelor of Arts (with Distinction), University of Manitoba, 2006
  • Certificate in Cannabis Law and Regulation from Osgoode Hall Law School (2021)
  • Works with clients on matters related to re-organization, purchasing, structuring and selling businesses.
  • Part of a team providing legal counsel to startups and technology-based businesses, including electronic commerce issues.
  • Part of a team acting for owners and developers in both small scale and complex real estate contracts and transactions.
  • Experience in commercial litigation and arbitration including construction, breach of contract, and scope of work disputes.
  • Advises on tenancy and lease agreements.
  • Manitoba Bar Association
  • Canadian Bar Association
  • Philanthropy and the Law Essay Prize, 2019
  • J.S.D. Tory Writing Award, 2018
  • Hana and Pinchas Vinchelstein Memorial Scholarship, 2018
  • Max and Jean Ruder Perpetual Scholarship, 2018
  • University of Manitoba Undergraduate Research Award, 2018
  • Blake, Cassels and Graydon Scholar Award, 2017, 2018
  • D.A. Thompson Q.C. Prize for Highest Standing in Torts, 2017
  • Max and Manly Isaacs Prize in Legal Methods, 2017
  • Mark and Dorothy Danzker Scholarship, 2017
  • Cecilia Asper Scholarship, 2016
  • Israel and Babs Asper Memorial Scholarship, 2016
  • Sharon and Mel Myers Award, 2016
  • Red River College Gold Medal Recipient of Graduating Class, 2007
  • Dean’s Honour List, Faculty of Architecture, 2003
  • Cement Association of Canada Scholarship, 2003
  • Corrigill Scholarship, Faculty of Architecture, 2002
  • UMSU Scholarship, Faculty of Arts, 2001, 2002
  • Dean’s Honour List, Faculty of Arts, 2001
  • University of Manitoba Employees Scholarship, 2000, 2001, 2002
  • University 1 Honour List, 2000
  • University of Manitoba Entrance Scholarship, 1999
  • Student Delegate for the 25th Annual CCPPP National Conference – selected as one of twelve students across Canada to serve as a student delegate for the Annual CCPPP National Conference on Public-Private Partnerships held in Toronto, Canada
  • Undergraduate Research Award Recipient – selected by the University of Manitoba Research & International for funding to research issues of professional liability in the construction sector
  • Council Member, Manitoba Association of Architects, 2019 – present
  • Board of Directors, Fort Garry Child Care Centre Co-Op Inc., 2020 – 2021
  • Board of Directors, University of Manitoba Campus Children’s Centre, 2017 – 2019
  • Committee Member, WAG Gallery Ball, 2010 – 2015
  • Board Member, Storefront Manitoba, 2012 – 2013